The General section of the Configuration dialog contains options for the Background Color, Map View, and Workspace.
Access the General Options by selecting the Configuration button from the File Toolbar or Tools menu, and navigating to the General section.
Set the background color of the map display. This setting is also available from the View Menu.
Note: The background color is also used as the background color for image exports when transparency is not enabled or not supported by the format. In these cases pixels that contain no data will be assigned the map background color.
Map View Options
|Automatically create backup workspace files||
If checked, this option will cause your current workspace file to automatically be backed up every so often (i.e. after so many vector edits, etc.). These backup copies will be created in the same folder as the workspace file and have the suffix "auto_backupX", where X is a number from 0 to 9.
|Lock active workspace file to prevent sharing||
If checked, this option prevents other users from opening and using the same workspace file that you are using while you have it open. This is useful in network environments where you don't want one person's work to accidentally overwrite another person's. If you try to open a locked workspace, it will automatically be opened in read-only mode, which will prevent you from overwriting the original workspace file when saving.
Run default query when launching Search function
When the Search Vector data button is launched, the attribute editor window automatically populates with default search query to search all feature names. It is recommended to uncheck this option to disable running the default search query when working with large vector datasets, such as LiDAR.
Ask before opening multiple Attribute Editors in tabbed panes
This option is applied when the user selects Edit Attributes for layers in a group. Global Mapper will display a prompt asking if the user wants to open multiple, tabbed panes. If the user clicks "Yes," each selected layer will get its own Attribute Editor pane. If the user clicks "No," all of the attributes will be displayed in one Attribute Editor pane. This option is applied by default.
Restore Default Settings
The Restore Default Settings button will restore all Global Mapper settings from the Configuration dialog to their default values.