Access the Advanced Configuration by selecting the Configuration button from the File Toolbar or Tools menu, and navigating to the Advanced section in the General folder.
Specify the location of the user data folder. The user data folder contains custom styles, templates, added online sources, and a number of other files related to customization.
Some downloading of online data or data processing requires the creation of temporary files. This setting specifies the location for these files. By default they are set to the local temp directory, which can be routinely cleaned in Windows.
Log Detail Level
Specify the level of logging information for troubleshooting.
Use Custom Log File Location
Specify a custom log file location. The default location is the User Data folder specified above.
If selected, tiles downloaded from online sources will save associated projection files.
If selected, text displayed on any error dialogs will be automatically copied to the clipboard as text (for pasting). DE-select this if the clipboard is being used for other tasks, so that data is not inadvertently erased when a Global Mapper process fails and shows an error.
If selected, clicking a workspace file in Windows Explorer will open the workspace in a new Global Mapper window, rather than loading inside the current application window.
Allow RUN_COMMAND (i.e. External Programs) in Scripts
The RUN_COMMAND can be called in scripts and workspaces and will run external programs. This is enabled by default. Un-check this option to disable this for security. This setting can only be controlled from the application interface, not from scripting.
Make 'User Created Features' the default layer
Prior to Global Mapper v21, newly created features were automatically added to a <User Created Features> layer. In v21 and layer, the default is now to add them to a new, user-created layer. In the Modify Feature Info dialog that appears when creating a new feature, under Feature Layer, the user now must type in a name for the new layer to add the feature to. Enable this setting to go back to the old behavior, and automatically put new features in a generic <User Created Features> layer.
Specify projection when creating new layer
Prior to Global Mapper v21, users were prompted with a projection dialog to confirm or modify the projection of the newly created layer. In current versions, when creating a new layer, it will now instead automatically default to using Global Mapper's current display projection. Enable this setting to turn that off and instead require that the user specify a projection when creating a new layer. To change the current display projection for Global Mapper or to specify a default projection for it to always use initially, see the Projection and Default Projection sections of the Configuration menu.
Use default animation running time (Seconds)
Specify the default overall length of layers when playing an animation using the Animate Layerstools in the Animate toolbar.
Don't prompt to save unsaved changes (Control Center)
If selected the warning prompt to save unsaved changes when closing a layer from the Control Center will be disabled. Any unsaved changes when the workspace is closed will be lost.
Don't prompt for reordering layers in groups (Control Center)
If selected prompts to change layer group when reordering layers in the Control Center will no longer appear.