Filters can be applied to the geodetic data source to hide certain entries in the datasource from users. This feature can be used to provide a streamlined experience for users, or to keep users from choosing systems or transformations deemed inappropriate by an administrative user. The Administrative Settings Filtering options allow an administrative user to determine which Projections, Horizontal Transformations and Vertical Transformations are visible to users.
Go to Options>Administrative Settings and click onto the Filtering tab.
Click the Set Datasource View/Filters button:
This will bring up the Filter Datasource Objects dialog:
Check or uncheck the Show box next to any object in the datasource to control whether or not it will be visible to users. You may click on the Show All and Hide All buttons: at the right of the button panel to hide or show all objects in the current folder at once.
From this point on, the filtered view will be available to users in this workspace, and those objects that have been hidden will not be available. To lock the Workspace to any of these restrictions, see Password Access.
This will replace your custom view with a fresh copy of the default. This may be desirable if the default view has been significantly updated (for example, in Geographic Calculator 7.4 new HTDP folders were added to provide easy access to the HTDP datums and coordinate systems). A user with a custom view based on an older default view would not have those new HTDP folders. Note, however, that if you choose to load the default view, any custom folders or reorganization of objects will be lost, and any custom object will be placed in the top level folder for its type.
When loading the datasource, objects that are not contained in any of
the existing view folders will be added to the view at the top level of
the folder corresponding to their object type. This may happen during
an upgrade if new objects have been added to geodata.xml. If a new Projected
Coordinate System has been added to the geodata.xml but it is not in the
user's custom view, that new coordinate system will be added under the
"Projected Coordinate Systems" folder.
The location of the View file may be verified or changed in File Locations. Under the Datasource menu, the Merge Data Views option allows users to merge an updated viewfile (i.e. the geodata.xvw) with their own custom viewfile,
This way, any new systems that have been foldered will be placed in matching folders within the user’s View file, without losing any customizations from the previous View file.